Writing That Resonates with Emily Devane


Writing That Resonates
Stories are a means of communication – but how do we make our words resonate with readers? In this interactive session, Emily Devane will explore how readers respond to the details you choose. Using examples, she will show you how this works in practice. There will be prompts and exercises during the session, enabling you to have a go there and then. Emily will also help you to identify which details to keep, and which to discard, when editing your work. You will come away with ideas, the beginnings of new stories and techniques to add to your writing tool kit.

Date Sunday, November 7, 6 AM EST / 11 AM GMT / 3:30 PM IST

About Instructor
Emily Devane is a writer, teacher and editor living in Ilkley, West Yorkshire. Her short fiction has been published widely, including the 2021 Best Microfictions Anthology, The Lonely Crowd, and Smokelong Quarterly. She has won the Bath Flash Fiction Award, a Word Factory Apprenticeship and a Northern Writers’ Award. Her flash fiction has twice been shortlisted for the Bridport Prize, nominated for Best Small Fictions (finalist), Best of the Net (finalist) and the Pushcart Prize. Emily now co-runs Strike! Short Story Club with Divya Ghelani. She teaches workshops and courses at Moor Words (@WordsMoor), is a founding editor at FlashBack Fiction, a former BIFFY50 editor and a member of Edge Hill University’s Narrative Research Group.

Want to register? Sign up for my mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in October.

Return to Crow Collective Workshops