Motifs and Metaphors with Mandira Pattnaik


Motifs & Metaphors: Power Tools in Writing
Symbol, motif and metaphors create maximum impact when introduced subtly and woven-in along the progress of the narrative. Let’s learn how to select your motif, and how to play with it. You’ll end with tools to help you reimagine the plot, create a sense of organic progress through symbolism, and write with natural flow in an effective manner. Suitable for all levels, and both flash and short-story writers, you’ll have enough examples, exercises and prompts to build-up a new set of stories in a friendly, supportive atmosphere.

Date Sunday, May 21, 5 AM EST / 10 AM GMT / 3:30 PM IST

About Instructor
Mandira Pattnaik is an Indian fiction writer and poet published in print and online in over 170 journals/magazines across fifteen countries. Her writing features in Best Small Fictions 2021, Citron Review, Passages North, DASH, Miracle Monocle, Timber Journal, Bending Genres, Gasher Journal, Watershed Review, Amsterdam Quarterly, and Prime Number Magazine, among other publications. Four-times Pushcart Prize-nominated, thrice for Best Microfictions, and once for Best of the Net, her fiction has been translated and highly commended by editors including Honorable Mention in CRAFT Flash Contest 2020, Highly Commended at Litro Magazine Summer Contest 2021, shortlisting at RetreatWest Micro Fiction and Strands International, longlisting at Smokelong Comedy Prize, Brilliant Flash and AWC Furious Fiction. Mandira’s microchapbook ‘In the Glow of a Velvet Moon’ was published by Ghost City Press (Sep 2021).

Register Want to register? Sign up for my mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in April.

Return to Crow Collective Workshops