In My Beginning is My End with Alison Woodhouse


In My Beginning is My End: Structuring Your Short Fiction
In this session we will look at how to make a short story feel satisfying and complete. We will be analysing stories, looking at techniques such as repetition, symbolism and imagery that writers use to create a semantic field of meaning, so that the end of the story is both surprising yet inevitable. We will then look at how to practice this in our own writing.

Date Sunday, January 30, 5 AM EST / 10 AM GMT / 3:30 PM IST

About Instructor
Alison is a writer and creative writing tutor. Her short fiction has won a number of competitions and many other pieces have been placed or shortlisted. Her stories are widely published both in print and online. Her debut Novella in Flash, The House on the Corner, was published in 2020 by Ad Hoc Fiction and her flash fiction collection, Family Frames, was published in 2021 by V Press. She has an MA (Distinction) in Creative Writing from Bath Spa and is one of the team who organise the Bath Short Story Competition. She teaches creative writing at CityLit. You can find out more about Alison on her website http://www.alisonwoodhouse.com

Want to register? Sign up for my mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in December.

Return to Crow Collective Workshops