Crow Collective Umbrella: Rain and Snow


What is Umbrella?
Join the Crow Collective for Umbrella, an open writing group. We’ll meet online for two hours, writing with prompts, reading our work out loud, and giggling. Respect and kindness are expected from all participants.

Why are there two groups?
There are two groups in order to accommodate lots of different time zones.

Rain: Saturday, 4 PM PST / Saturday, 7 PM EST / Sunday 8 AM SGT / Sunday, 11 AM AEDT

Snow: Sunday, 5 AM EST / Sunday, 10 AM GMT / Sunday, 11 AM CET / Sunday, 3:30 PM IST

Do I have to attend every week?
I encourage you to attend regularly, as that’s a great way to build up connections and a strong writing practice. But if bi-weekly works better for you, that’s just fine.

When will registration open?
January 1, 2022. Want to be reminded? Sign up for my mailing list.

When will the groups begin meeting?
January 22, 2022.

Will I have a chance to share my work?
Yes, if you’d like to share you’ll have a chance to. It’s optional.

Who is running this writing group?
My name is Sage Tyrtle. I’m a professional storyteller, and I’ve been teaching workshops for the past ten years, helping my students tell resonant, strong, effective stories. My stories have been featured on NPR, CBC, and PBS. I’m a Moth StorySLAM winner. My written work is available or upcoming in X-R-A-Y, Pithead Chapel, and Cheap Pop, among others.

How is this workshop presented?
This workshop is online, live, and interactive. Participants are encouraged (but not required) to keep their video cameras on, as online events are much more fun when we can all see each other.

We’ll gather on Google Meet, which is very similar to Zoom and has built-in closed captioning.

Will this group be recorded?
No, this group will not be recorded.

What is the Crow Collective?
Crow Collective workshops are by the writing community, for the writing community. The prices are low so they are more accessible, and there are two free spots (if needed). The Umbrella Writing Groups are free.

Registration Registration opens January 1, 2022.
Two different flavours to accommodate lots of time zones:
Click here for Rain Week 1.
Click here for Snow Week 1.

Return to Crow Collective Workshops